

Montebello Teachers Association/California Teachers Association/National Education Association • 918 W Whittier Blvd Montebello 90640 • (323) 722-5005 • montebelloteachers.oi



The 2013-2014 Executive Committee was installed June 11. From left to right: President Lorraine Richards (MHS), Vice President Margie Granado (BAE), Treasurer Guillermo Sandoval (MHS), Elementary Director Rita Galvan (CIS), Elementary Director Kathy Arriola (WAE), Intermediate Director Andy Shinn (BGI), Sandra De La Cruz (DO), Filiberto Arrizmendi (MOA), and Immediate Past President Julian De La Torre (MTA). High School Director Carmen Patlan is not pictured.

Council Endorses Candidates in Board of Education & Senate Races

The Council endorsed Sergio Flores for the 2-year Board of Education seat as well as Lani Cupchoy and Edgar Cisneros for the 4-year Board of Education seats. In all, one 2-year seat and three 4-year seats will be on the November 5 ballot.

The Council also endorsed Tony Mendoza for the 32nd Senate District. Tony Mendoza recognized outgoing members of the Executive Committee: Alma Orta (pictured at right, SUE), Gilbert Gomez (MHS) and Linda Camacho (LME).



Sergio Flores

Lani Cupchoy



Edgar Cisneros

Nominations Open for the Office of Secretary

Election Committee Chairperson Chris Low (MOI) made his report regarding the May 21 election for Executive Committee members and CTA State Council Delegates. A challenge was filed. The Committee recommended to uphold the original election results and the Council approved the recommendation. The office of Secretary and the CTA State Council run-off will be on a ballot in October.



Nominations for the office of Secretary will close at the Council meeting on Tuesday, September 17. Eligible members may be nominated in one of three ways: (1) by completing the petition posted on montebelloteachers.org, (2) via nomination on the floor of Council, or (3) via the Nominating Committee. The Nominating Committee can be contacted through the MTA office. The members of the Nominating Committee are Kathy Arriola (WAE), Elizabeth Kocharian (BGH), Gloria Cunningham (WIE), Theresa Flores (GWE), Christopher Kakimi (CIS), and John Ramirez (EAI).

Perfect Attendance Building Reps Honored: 3 Win Prizes

Eighteen Building Reps attended all 10 Council meetings in 2012-2013: Robin Ponce Edgington (BAE), Colleen Nishikawa-Alanis (BAE), Lisa Navarro-Gutierrez (BGE), Graciela Guzman (GWE), Leticia Ornelas (GWE), Margie Sullivan (MPE), Veronica Fernandez (SUE), Miki Moreno (MOI), Ed Guzman (MOI), Kathy Mott (SUI), Elizabeth Kocharian (BGH), Tony Richards (MHS), Rey Vogel (MHS), Jannett Machado (MHS), Marie Madsen (MHS), Ryan Rice (ATC), Elvia De La Cruz (MHS), and Irma Navarro (MOA).



All the "Perfects" were eligible to win one of three \$100 gift cards. The winners are pictured to the right: Elvia De La Cruz (MHS), Tony Richards (MHS),

and Margie Sullivan (MPE). Those who attended five or more meetings also had an opportunity to win one of two \$50 gift cards.