

Julian De La Torre President

Gilbert Gomez Vice President

Secretary Lorraine Richards

Guillermo Sandoval Treasurer

Alma Orta Elementary Director

Ríta Galvan Elementary Director

Linda Camacho Intermediate Director

High School Director Carmen Patlán

Sandra Morales Support Staff Director

Filiberto Arrizmendi Adult Education Director



Kathy Schlotz Executive Director March 11, 2013

- TO: Building Reps
- FR: Julian De La Torre, president Kathy Schlotz, executive director
- RE: COUNCIL MEETING TUESDAY March 19 AT 3:30 P.M. Montebello Teachers Association Conference Center (MTA CC) 920 W. Whittier Blvd. in Montebello
- 1. Board Member David Vela will visit Council and be available to answer questions.
- 2. The District opened Article XVIII. Evaluation Procedures this past spring in negotiations. The Association agreed to a committee for the purpose of revising and reviewing the article. The Association members of the committee are **Chairperson Gilbert Gomez** (MHS), Veronica Fernandez (SUI), Elizabeth Gasca (RPS), and Terry SalasOrtiz (CCE). The Committee is ready to make **recommendations concerning Article XVIII. Evaluation Procedures.** An open hearing is planned for Tuesday, March 12. The Council will have the opportunity to discuss next steps at Council.
- 3. The Bylaws Committee has been working to align MTA Bylaws with the CTA Bylaws requirements. The **recommended bylaw revisions** will be shared at Council along with a tentative timeline for implementation. Bylaws Committee Chairperson Lorraine Richards (MHS) will review the alignment process.
- 4. The Calendar Committee has recommended 2013-2014 calendars. The proposed calendars are posted at Montebelloteachers.org. Calendar Committee Chairperson Alma Orta (SUE) asks Building Reps to be prepared to vote on the Calendars at Council. In addition, the Calendar Committee proposes beginning surveying members regarding the 2014-2015 calendars this spring and approving the calendars prior to the end of this school year.
- 5. Executive Director Kathy Schlotz will offer information on site specific waivers for banking minutes and staff development days. More information regarding MOUs is on line at montebel-loteachers.org.
- Elections are in May. Nominations close at the April 23 Council meeting. President Julian De La Torre will recommend the Nominating Committee: Kathy Arriola (WAE), Elizabeth Kochrian (BGH), Glo-



ria Cunningham (WIE), Teresa Flores (GWE), Christopher Kakimi (CIS), and John Ramirez (EAI).

