

Buiding Rep Vemo montebelloteachers.org (323) 722-5005 (323) 722-0543 fax 918 W Whittier Blvd. Montebello CA 90640

Julian De La Torre President

Gilbert Gomez Vice President

Secretary Lorraine Richards

Guillermo Sandoval Treasurer

Alma Orta Elementary Director

Sal Salas Elementary Director

Linda Camacho Intermediate Director

High School Director Laura Sanchez

Sandra Morales Support Staff Director

Irma Navarro Adult Education Director

Dianne Garcia Stevens Immediate Past President



Kathy Schlotz Executive Director May 29, 2012

TO: Building Reps

FR: Julian De La Torre, president Kathy Schlotz, executive director

RE: COUNCIL MEETING TUESDAY

June 12 AT 3:30 P.M.

Montebello Teachers Association Conference Center (MTA CC)

920 W. Whittier Blvd. in Montebello

- 1. We need a CTA Volunteer Card from each Bargaining Unit member at your site. Please bring the completed volunteer cards to the Council meeting. Political Action Chairpersons Ed Guzman (MOI) and Guillermo Sandoval (MHS) will review the summer and early autumn campaign plans. The Corporate Power Grab Initiative is now called the Special Exemptions Acts. Vote No on the Special Exemptions Act.
- 2. The 2012-2013 MTA budget was presented at the May Council meeting. The budget is available on Montebelloteachers.org. The Council will be asked to **approve the budget** at the June meeting.
- In addition to seeking the adoption of next year's budget, Treasurer Guillermo Sandoval (MHS) will deliver a budget report for the current year budget.
- 4. Bargaining Chairperson Andy Shinn (BGI) will update the Council on negotiations. One issue will require immediate action. It is proposed that those Bargaining Unit members who currently receive ten equal checks each year may receive eleven equal checks in years that the school calendar begins in August and ends in June. (This occurs in the 2012-2013 school year.) The September 1 check would not have reductions for dues, health insurance, and TSA contributions. This issue will be discussed and voted on at Council Tuesday, June 12. This proposed change would not effect those who currently are paid in twelve equal checks.
- Election Chairperson Elvia De La Cruz (MHS) will report the results of the May elections for MTA Executive Committee members and CTA State Council of Education.
- The 2012-13 Executive Committee will be installed by CTA Southeastern Service Center Council President Gerri Gandolfo. We will also salute the outgoing members of the Executive Committee: Sal Salas (CCE), Laura Sanchez (MHS), Irma Navarro (MOA), and Dianne GarciaStevens (CIS).

